Pink Lady Perfection

Oats. I’ve always love them. My main reasons for my love of oats: taste and topping choices! One of my favorite childhood food memories is my Mom’s “homemade” oatmeal…AKA microwaved oats, milk, water, brown sugar and a river of syrup…YUM. Fast forward to college and the world of “instant” food and convenience. Forget the microwave; instant oatmeal was my new breakfast. Don’t get me wrong, I still love instant oatmeal to this day, and I still eat it, but I’ve found that a packet of oatmeal alone does not satisfy my appetite in the morning. In college, I had the luxury of a flexible lifestyle. One packet of instant oatmeal held me over for a class or two, and then I could run home for a snack, stop in the cafeteria for some “free” food, or drive off campus to a coffee shop.  After graduating and diving right into corporate america, I found my go-to breakfast was not cutting it. A grueling schedule of a 6:00 a.m. workout, starting work at 8:00 a.m., and holding off on lunch until 1:00 p.m. was leaving me famished within one hour of eating breakfast, and I no longer had the luxury of a flexible college-like schedule. Instead, I had a set schedule. I knew I needed to incorporate a hearty, filling, breakfast into my days. Thank goodness for food blogs!  After beginning to read some blogs, I stumbled upon some great oatmeal recipes that incorporated toppings and mix-in’s such as raisins, nuts, certain fruits and berries into their recipes. I decided to give it a try, and began bringing packets of raisins, sliced almonds, healthy granolas, and syrup into work, to go along with my instant oatmeal packets.  After one-day, I felt a difference! My hunger subsided until lunchtime! I’ve been hooked ever since. At least 4 days of the work-week, I make my instant oatmeal, and incorporate my favorite toppings.  On the weekends, it’s a different story, because on the weekends, I can make stovetop oats! 

Pink Lady Cinnamon Oats
Ingredients
1 medium Pink Lady apple
1 cup water, divided
1/2 cup skim milk
1/2 cup whole oats
cinnamon
toppings of choice!
Directions:
1) Slice and cube one pink lady apple
2) Put in saucepan, along with 1/2 cup water and a few shakes of cinnamon

3) Cook on medium heat until apple has softened
4) Add 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup whole oats


5) Mix together and stir for 2-3 minutes on medium, until desired consistency is reached. 

6) Stir in additional cinnamon, transfer to bowl, add toppings, and enjoy!

***My go-to toppings are approx. a Tbsp.each of sliced almonds, pecans, and raisins, followed by a handful of granola, and syrup***

Caution***Oats may taste better in a zebra print bowl…you may want to invest in one 🙂 My Vegas mug makes me smile too 🙂 One last thing that would make me smile…eating these oats on the ocean…like vacation in October 😦

I can dream!

Until recently, I did not realize the health benefits of oats. Cooking Light’s January/February issue had an article devoted to the science of oats and the health benefits of them. A brief recap:
1) Protects your heart
2) Reduces blood pressure
3)Helps manage diabetes
4) Helps maintain a healthy colon
5) Keeps you fuller due to the fiber content

Oatmeal, I love you!

0 Responses to “Pink Lady Perfection”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

