Soup Soothes the Soul

I’ve come to the conclusion that my lunches just don’t feel complete without a cup of soup. At least, that’s what I felt like today. With a blizzard developing outside, today seemed like the perfect day to sit down on my lunch hour with a steaming cup of chicken noodle, minestrone, or some sort of veggie based soup. Too bad our cafeteria is severely lacking in the soup department. Today’s “Italian Wedding” was anything but enticing. So for the greater part of my afternoon, all I could think about was what I didn’t eat for lunch, and what I could make to feed my craving at dinnertime. Originally, I had my eye on the mass amounts of red peppers in my fridge, along with a quickly aging head of cauliflower, but broccoli edged the cauliflower out in the end. I don’t know about you, but I love broccoli…steamed, roasted, sautéed; you name it, I’ll eat it. Despite my love of broccoli, I rarely eat broccoli soup, mostly because restaurant’s version’s of broccoli cheddar soup cram in too much cream and heavy cheese for my liking. I was thrilled to find this recipe that incorporated my love of parmesan cheese and broccoli in a light, yet satisfying soup. Serve with a side salad and some pita chips, and you have a great lunch on your hands. Blizzard? What blizzard? This soup is going to warm me up all week long!
 
Potato and Broccoli Parmesan Soup
Inspired by Cooking Lights Potato and Broccoli Soup

Ingredients
 

2 tablespoons butter
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced

1 3/4 pounds broccoli, thick stems peeled and diced (about 2 cups), tops cut into small florets (about 1 quart)

1 1/2 pounds boiling potatoes (about 5), peeled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes

3 cups canned low-sodium chicken broth or homemade stock

3 cups water

1 3/4 teaspoons salt

1/4 teaspoon fresh-ground black pepper

1/2 cup grated Parmesan

Directions
1. In a large pot, melt the butter over moderately low heat. Add the onion; cook, stirring occasionally,about 5 minutes.
2. Add the garlic, broccoli stems, potatoes, broth, water, salt, and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer until the vegetables are almost tender, about 10 minutes.

3. In a food processor or blender, pulse the soup to a coarse puree. Return the soup to the pot and bring to a simmer.


4. Add the broccoli florets and simmer until they are tender, about 5 minutes. Stir 1/4 cup of the grated Parmesan into the soup, and serve the soup topped with the remaining cheese.

 
 Best part about this recipe…it took 30 minutes at the most to complete from start to finish! An easy dish after a long day at work always puts a smile on my face. Take a look at my lunch pack:

It’s not just delicious, but also nutritious. Look at these health benefits!!!

Broccoli:
-Provides a high amount of vitamin C, which aids iron absorption in the body.
-The folic acid in broccoli helps women sustain normal tissue growth.
-The potassium in broccoli aids those battling high blood pressure, while a large amount of calcium helps combat osteoporosis.
-It’s fiber-rich, which enhances the gastrointestinal (GI) tract, as well as aims to reduce blood cholesterol levels.
Three cheers for broccoli!!!

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Soup Soothes the Soul”


  1. 1 Monique February 17, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    mmm I, too, LOVE broccoli, but generally stray away from those ‘broccoli and cheddar’ soups because they often are too heavy/rich for me. I don’t have a food processor, though… do you think i could just use a masher instead?? obviously it wouldn’t be as smooth, but i don’t mind a ‘chunkier’ type of soup!

    • 2 twintreats February 18, 2010 at 4:02 am

      Hi Moe! You could use a masher or a blender to achieve the same consistency. The potatoes add a nice thickness, and the parmesan gives it a great flavor! Try it, it’s a great one to last for the work week 🙂


Leave a Reply

