Salty ‘N Sweet

I’ve never been one to crave salty foods. I blame it on my massive sweet tooth. Most of my meals are rounded out with a sweet treat (Dove Dark’s and mini Butterfinger’s are my favorites!) rather than a bag of chips. However, the older I get, the more salt I crave. Salt bagels, soft pretzels, and pita chips are a few of my favorite foods that fulfill my cravings. Recently, I’ve had sweet and salty cravings at the same time. What’s a girl to do? Find a snack that caters to both, of course! At Christmas every year, one of my favorite desserts is Caramel Turtles. Reason being: it’s a sweet and salty treat, all in one. Salty pecans mixed with sweet caramels and milk chocolate, what‘s not to love? I’ll tell you what’s not to love: the time it takes to make them! So when my Aunt Martha told my Mom about an easy turtle recipe over Christmas, I wasted no time before trying them!

Easy Chocolate Turtles
Ingredients:
One bag salted pretzel twists
One bag Rolos
One bag Pecans
 Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2) Line cookie sheet with parchment paper

3) Unwrap Rolo candies and set to the side in a bowl

 
4) Cover paper with pretzel twists
5) Place a Rolo on each pretzel
6) Place tray in oven for 2 minutes, or until Rolo’s have softened (don’t let them melt completely!)

7) Remove tray when softened, and press a pecan into each Rolo.

8 ) Place in fridge until hardened (approx. 30 minutes). Enjoy!

A salty, sweet, easy treat. Thanks, Auntie M!

0 Responses to “Salty ‘N Sweet”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

