Marinated Vegetables

Veggies and dip: A classic, healthy, extremely common appetizer present at most gatherings. Don’t get me wrong, I love this classic combination, but sometimes I just get tired of it. It could be because I eat lettuce and carrots as often as a rabbit, as does my twin sister. We can’t help it, we love vegetables! I can speak for both of us when I say that we often discuss how we’re both sick of the traditional veggie tray or salad..
Between washing the lettuce, cutting the vegetables, making a dressing, roasting nuts—it all takes time! With all of the Swiss Skincare Workshops I’ve been doing recently, I’ve needed to prepare quick, simple, and healthy appetizers to have on hand for my lovely guests. Enter: My Mom’s classic Marinated Vegetables. A savvy twist on your traditional veggie tray; this beautiful dish takes minutes to prepare, and just seconds to gobble down! Plus, it’s flexible. Choose the veggies your heart desires, or if you have veggies you need to use, toss those in too! I stuck closely to my Mom’s recipe, but that doesn’t mean you have to. Be sure to make this the night before a gathering-it tastes best when it’s been refrigerated for 24 hours!
Mom’s Marinated Vegetables
3 stalks celery
4 stalks broccoli
8 large mushrooms (halved)
½ head cauliflower
½ red pepper cut in strips
½ yellow pepper cut in strips
½ orange pepper cut in strips

Sauce:
½ cup sugar (or 1 tsp. artificial sweetener)*
1 tsp. Dry mustard
¼ cup vinegar
¼ cup polyunsaturated oil
¼ cup water
½ small onion-grated
1 T poppy seed
*It’s up to you whether you want to use the real sugar, or artificial.  I’ve tried it with both, and they taste relatively similar (and sweet!)

Directions: Whisk ingredients together or blend in a blender and pour over the veggies. Mix thoroughly, cover, and marinate all day, stirring occasionally.

Serve with toothpicks, and you have an easy, healthy, treat appropriate for any party or gathering. Enjoy!

0 Responses to “Marinated Vegetables”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

