Coconut Shrimp Coma

I used to despise coconut. That is until I tried my twin sister’s coconut shrimp. Red Lobster coconut shrimp to be exact. Crispy, deep fried, golden deliciousness; heaven on a plate. Or should I say heart attack on a plate. Yes, that would be correct. Regardless, ordering it as a treat every now-and-then is so much fun, and satisfies my recurring (and random!) coconut cravings. However, since Red Lobster no longer exists in New England (which I’m not okay with since to me, it‘s one of the best chains around!), I’ve wanted to try making it myself, with healthier ingredients. Thank goodness for Cooking Light! The January/February issue had a coconut shrimp recipe in their “quick and easy” category, so I was immediately intrigued. It calls for Jumbo shrimp, but I used medium and they were perfect! With just 5 ingredients needed, you’ll quickly be in a coconut coma, guaranteed.
Coconut Shrimp
Inspired by Cooking Light’s Coconut Shrimp
Ingredients:
30 medium frozen shrimp
½ cup flaked sweetened coconut
½ cup whole wheat panko crumbs
1/3 cup cornstarch
¾ cup liquid egg whites
*1-2 tsp. canola oil if desired
Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350*|
2)Thaw shrimp under running water. Peel, leaving tails intact; discard shells. Place coconut in a food processor; pulse 6 times or until finely chopped.
3) Add panko; pulse to combine.

4) Place coconut mixture in a shallow dish. Place cornstarch in a shallow dish. Place egg whites in a shallow dish.

5) Working with 1 shrimp at a time, dredge shrimp in cornstarch, shaking off excess. Dip in egg whites; dredge in coconut mixture.

6) Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Spray with cooking spray. (Add 1-2 teaspoons of canola oil to pan if needed); swirl to coat. Add 10-12 shrimp to pan; coat tops of shrimp with cooking spray. Cook shrimp 2 1/2 minutes on each side or until done. Repeat procedure 3 times with remaining oil and shrimp.

7) Place shrimp in oven on a lined cookie sheet for 3-5 minutes for an extra crispy coating!

As a side note, I didn’t make the mango sauce the original recipe called for. Instead, I made a cocktail sauce, since that’s what I prefer. Although the shrimp may look a littleeee burnt, they weren’t, the panko crumbs got extra toasting. The verdict: My roommates loved them just as much as I did! Crispy, yet light, and packed full of flavor-this one’s a repeat!
2 Responses to “Coconut Shrimp Coma”


  1. 1 Lauren March 5, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Like you, I used to hate coconut… but now I ADORE it! I’ll have to give this recipe a try :).

  2. 2 Monique March 5, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    YUMMM. Mere, these look delish!! I’m dying to try them… Hurrican Restaurant has the BEST coconut shrip with an amazing mandarin orange/ginger dipping sauce that i’d love to recreate. the whole coconut thing is funny… i feel like every recipe i’ve written down to try recently has involved coconut, so it’s already on my grocery list! and i made shrimp scampi last week, so i’ve got that, too! yay:)


Leave a Reply

