Shiitake and Sweet Pea Risotto

Believe it or not, I’d never tried risotto until I moved to the North End after college. In fact, I didn’t even know what it was! One things for sure…I fell in love at first bite. Unlike a typical rice, this had a creamy, cheesy thickness, and was full of my favorite things: shrimp or chicken, mushrooms or butternut squash; to me, it was my carb and my vegetable in one, the perfect combination. The only thing is, I knew the restaurant versions had to be fat laden, because they were just too tasty! Ever since my first taste, I’ve been trying to perfect my own, lighter risotto. On this one, I think I came pretttty darn close. Thanks for the inspiration, Cooking Light!

Shiitake and Sweet Pea Risotto
Inspired by March 2010’s Cooking Light
Ingredients:
4 Cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1 T butter
½ cup chopped onion
1.5 tsp minced garlic, divided
1 cup uncooked Arborio rice
½ cup dry white wine
4 cups thinly sliced shiitake mushroom caps
¾ cup frozen green peas
6 T parmesan cheese, divided
¼ tsp ground black pepper

Directions:

1) Bring chicken broth to a simmer in a saucepan, keep warm over low heat.

2) Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion; cook 2 minutes. Add 1 tsp garlic; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Add rice; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Add wine; cook 2 minutes or until liquid is absorbed, stirring frequently. Stir in ½ cup broth; cook 2 minutes or until liquid is absorbed, stirring constantly. Add remaining broth, ½ cup at a time, stirring constantly until each portion of broth is absorbed before adding the next (about 20 minutes).

3) Spray large skillet over medium heat. Add sliced mushrooms, and sauté until tender. Add remaining garlic, and set aside.

4) Stir mushrooms, peas, ¼ cup cheese, and pepper into risotto; cook 3 minutes. Serve, and sprinkle each serving with cheese.

A creamy, cheesy, healthy risotto. Amen!

0 Responses to “Shiitake and Sweet Pea Risotto”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

