Three Bean Veggie(and turkey!) Chili

Growing up, my twin and I became accustomed to our Mom’s chili recipe: Lean ground beef, kidney beans, green peppers, and stewed tomatoes; a simple yet compelling recipe, served along with egg noodles. This recipe has been a family favorite for as long as I can remember. Don’t get me wrong, I still LOVE going home for this meal, but ever since I convinced my Mom substitute lean ground turkey meat in place of the beef, I’ve been hooked! You may have noticed that I LOVE vegetables, so naturally, I adore vegetarian chili. The only problem is, I also love meat in my chili since I grew up eating it this way, and because it adds to the thickness and the flavor. Since receiving my crock pot as a Christmas present, I’ve been dying to make a knock-out chili. Lucky for me, January/February’s Cooking Light featured their Best Chili recipes. So I took their 3 bean Vegetarian Chili and added my own spin to it! Enjoy 🙂
Three-Bean Veggie and Turkey Chili
Inspired by Jan/Feb. Cooking Light

Ingredients:
2 red bell peppers

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

1 cup chopped onion

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper

1 teaspoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

2 cups organic vegetable broth ( I used regular)

1 1/2 cups (1/2-inch) cubed peeled butternut squash

1 (28-ounce) can no-salt-added tomatoes, undrained and chopped

1 (15-ounce) can pinto beans, rinsed and drained

1 (15-ounce) can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

1 (15-ounce) can red kidney beans, rinsed and drained

1lb lean ground turkey meat

0 Responses to “Three Bean Veggie(and turkey!) Chili”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

