A Simple, Sinful Dessert

As a child, my favorite lunch was peanut butter and fluff. As an adult, it’s still my favorite, although I’ll occasionally substitute jelly for the fluff. Don’t I sound so grown up? J I can’t be trusted around a bag of Reeses peanut butter cups and don’t even talk to me about peanut butter M&M’s. An apple isn’t quite an apple without a smear or two of peanut butter and an English muffin is just plain tasteless without it!
It’s pretty clear I hate the stuff. Luckily, my sister and I both adapted a love for peanut butter, so whenever I go to visit…it’s our snack of choice J
My deep love for peanut butter goes even further when I bake with it. I never consider baked goods with peanut butter as a “bad” choice simply because it’s such a great protein source. When I saw this recipe, I couldn‘t contain my excitement. I bookmarked it immediately! It’s simple to make, rich in taste, and involves the saltiness of pretzels and peanut butter with the sweetness of milk chocolate, combined in one. Wish I could say I only ate one….but that was five truffles ago L
Enjoy!

 

Ingredients
1/2 cup crunchy natural peanut butter
1/4 cup finely chopped salted pretzels ( I used Rold Gold Honey Wheat sticks)
1/2 cup milk chocolate chips, melted  

Preparation

Combine peanut butter and pretzels in a small bowl.

 Chill in the freezer until firm, about 15 minutes.

Roll the peanut butter mixture into 20 balls (about 1 teaspoon each). Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment or wax paper and freeze until very firm, about 1 hour.

Roll the frozen balls in melted chocolate.

Refrigerate until the chocolate is set, about 30 minutes.

1 Response to “A Simple, Sinful Dessert”


  1. 1 Lauren June 8, 2010 at 10:50 am

    Sweet + salty + peanut buttery = absolute HEAVEN. These truffles sound divine!


Leave a Reply

