Guiltless Vegetable Fettuccine (with elbows!)

Guiltless Vegetable Fettuccine (with elbows!)
I spent this past weekend with my Mom and twin sister. Our time together is too short, and it always leaves me yearning for more…and yearning for my Mom’s food. It was no surprise that tonight, I craved one of Mommy dearest’s specialties…healthy fettuccine. I RARELY crave pasta,, but when I do, the craving hits. And boy, does it hit hard! For some reason, tonight the carb’s were screaming my name. I seldom order alfredo dishes in restaurants simply because they are too rich for my stomach, but this dish is light, flavorful, and full of fiber! I happened to have all the ingredients on hand for the alfredo sauce, and everything came together in less than 20 minutes. An easy meal for the start of the workweek, yes please!

Ingredients:
1 T Margarine

2 small cloves garlic, minced

1 T Flour

1 1/3 cup skim milk ( you may need more, but add gradually).

2T light cream cheese

1 ¼ cup grated parmesan cheese

4 cups whole wheat elbows (or pasta of your choice)

One head of broccoli, steamed

One cup corn, steamed

Sauce Directions:

1) Melt margarine in saucepan, then add garlic.

2) Stir in flour, and gradually add milk, stirring with a wire whisk.

3) Cook 8 minutes, or until thick.

4) Stir in cream cheese, and cook 2 minutes.

5) Add 1 cup parmesan cheese, and stir until melted.

*I steamed the broccoli and corn on the stove at the same time the pasta was cooking.

**I also boiled the water for my pasta before I started the sauce, and as I was making the sauce, the pasta cooked.

Lucious, yet light.

Enjoy 🙂

0 Responses to “Guiltless Vegetable Fettuccine (with elbows!)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

