Lentil-Barley Burgers

I may have a slight obsession with veggie burgers. Call me crazy, but they just get better and better! Recently, I’ve tried barbeque, mushroom, and spicy black bean(my favorite)! The intensity of flavor in each burger creates little need for condiments, although ketchup and Dijon mustard are two of my must-have toppings. I used to turn my nose up at them…until my Mom made me try them! Now, I buy different types of veggie burgers on most of my grocery store visits. I’ve wanted to concoct my own recipe and see if it measured up to my freezer favorites for quite some time. Tonight was the night! Since I’m a new fan of barley, and have wanted to try lentils for some time, I searched for a recipe that incorporated both nutritious ingredients…Lentil-Barley Burgers fit the bill! On a scale of 1 to 10…these were a 10. My roomie thought so too J

Inspired by Cooking Light

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups water

1/2 cup dried lentils

Cooking spray

1 cup chopped onion

1/4 cup grated carrot

2 teaspoons minced garlic

2 tablespoons tomato paste

3/4 teaspoon dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

3/4 teaspoon salt, divided

3/4 cup cooked pearl barley

1/2 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

2 large egg whites

1 large egg

3 tablespoons canola oil, divided

7 Grain Deli Flat burger buns

Directions:

1. If you haven’t already done so, cook barley. I cooked 1 cup of barley in 2.5 cups of water, for 30 minutes. This means I have leftover barley…yay!

2. Combine 1 1/2 cups water and lentils in a saucepan; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 25 minutes or until lentils are tender. Drain. Place half of lentils in a large bowl. Place remaining lentils in a food processor; process until smooth. Add processed lentils to whole lentils in bowl.

3. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add onion and carrot; sauté 6 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally. Add garlic; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Add tomato paste, oregano, chili powder, and 1/4 teaspoon salt; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Add onion mixture to lentils. Add remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt, barley, and next 4 ingredients (through egg); stir well. Cover and refrigerate 30 minutes-1 hour or until firm.

4. Divide mixture into 8 portions, shaping each into a 1/2-inch-thick patty. Heat 1 1/2 tablespoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add 4 patties; cook 3 minutes on each side or until browned. Repeat procedure with remaining 1 1/2 tablespoons oil and 4 patties.

 
It was so delicious…I barely got a picture of the finished product. Here’s a glimpse:
Yes, you see globs of ketchup and mustard on the side…whooops! Make these…they’re unreal!  

1 Response to “Lentil-Barley Burgers”


  1. 1 Monique Gagnon July 22, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    can we make these together some time?? i wonder if they’d be good cooked on my grill?! xo


Leave a Reply

