My own take on granola bars

The first thing that comes to mind when I think of granola bars is “chewy” Quaker Oats bars. In college, “chewy” bars were one of my go to snacks. The downside? They only curbed my hunger for about an hour. Then I’d feel ravenous once again. Since venturing into the working world post college, I’ve expanded my granola bar menu. Now, I reach for something other than those little (but delicious!) Chewy bars. Luna, Fiber One, Lara, and Clif Kids, all have a vast amount of chocolaty, peanut buttery, dessert-like options that seem to fill me up for a couple of hours, but none of those bars combine all my favorite things in one…if only I could combine a few! So, that’s what I set out to do today. My own take on granola bars combines oats, peanut butter, and maple syrup, with dark chocolate chips, dried cherries, walnuts, cinnamon, vanilla, and an apple together. The best part is…you can substitute the dark chocolate chips for white or milk, the cherries for raisins or cranberries, the walnuts for another nut of your choice, and the apple for a banana. A zillion easy recipes, right at your fingertips. Voila! You have a protein-packed, decadent, yet health-ified, chewy granola bar.

Ingredients
½ apple (I used a granny smith)
1 cup + ½ cup whole oats
½ cup raisins
½ cup pecans(walnuts or cashews would work too!)
½ cup chocolate chips ( white chocolate or butterscotch would be delish!)
½ cup raisins (I used ¼ cup raisins, ¼ cup craisins)
½ cup maple syrup
¾ cup peanut butter (I used creamy, but chunky would do!) 

Optional Ingredients
1.5 tsp. Vanilla
1 tsp. Cinnamon
Protein powder 

Directions

1) Cook Apple on stove, then mash in a large bowl.

2) Add all ingredients to bowl and mix together.

3) Smooth out in 8 by 8 pan, and chill in refrigerator for 2 hours.

I guess since these are technically a “bar”, you should cut them into squares, but I prefer to eat them straighttttt from the pan 🙂

1 Response to “My own take on granola bars”


  1. 1 Monique Gagnon September 15, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    i loveeee making my own granolar bars!! and by ‘own,’ i mean taking a recipe i find on all the blogs i read and adapting it to my taste buds/cravings for that particular day:)


Leave a Reply

